Audio

Esther Belin in Conversation with Manny Loley

July 15, 2022

This week, Esther Belin speaks with Manny Loley, a Diné poet and storyteller who writes in both the Navajo and English languages. Belin and Loley talk about stories as medicine, the unique poetics of the Navajo language and the meanings and musicality that don’t translate into English, and the importance and industriousness of queer people in Diné creation stories and in the Navajo Nation today. Loley also shares why his most important readers and listeners are his grandma, his mom, and the land.

Loley is ‘Áshįįhi born for Tó Baazhní’ázhí; his maternal grandparents are the Tódích’íi’nii, and his paternal grandparents are the Kinyaa’áanii. He is currently pursuing a Ph.D. in English and Literary Arts at the University of Denver, and he serves as the director of the Emerging Diné Writers’ Institute. You can read two of Loley’s poems in Navajo and English in the July/August 2022 issue of Poetry, in print and online.

More Episodes from The Poetry Magazine Podcast
Showing 41 to 60 of 340 Podcasts
  1. Tuesday, December 8, 2020

    Leila Chatti and Sharon Olds in Conversation

  2. Tuesday, November 24, 2020
  3. Tuesday, October 27, 2020

    Ed Roberson and Lyn Hejinian in Conversation

  4. Thursday, October 15, 2020
  5. Monday, July 27, 2020

    A Conversation with Kit Fan and Alice Oswald

  6. Monday, June 8, 2020
  7. Monday, June 1, 2020
  8. Monday, May 25, 2020
  9. Monday, May 18, 2020

    A.E. Stallings reads “Daedal”

  10. Monday, May 11, 2020

    Janice N. Harrington reads “Wind Shear”

  11. Monday, May 4, 2020

    Mary Ruefle reads “Vapor Wake”

    Poets
  12. Monday, April 27, 2020

    Ocean Vuong reads “Not Even This”

    Poets
  13. Monday, April 20, 2020

    Michael Hofmann reads “Famous Poets”

  14. Monday, April 13, 2020
  15. Monday, April 6, 2020

    Joy Ladin reads “Forgetting”

    Poets
  16. Monday, March 30, 2020
  17. Monday, March 23, 2020
  1. Previous Page
    1. 1
    2. 2
    3. 3
    4. 4
    5. 5
  2. Next Page