Audio

Esther Belin in Conversation with Manny Loley

July 15, 2022

This week, Esther Belin speaks with Manny Loley, a Diné poet and storyteller who writes in both the Navajo and English languages. Belin and Loley talk about stories as medicine, the unique poetics of the Navajo language and the meanings and musicality that don’t translate into English, and the importance and industriousness of queer people in Diné creation stories and in the Navajo Nation today. Loley also shares why his most important readers and listeners are his grandma, his mom, and the land.

Loley is ‘Áshįįhi born for Tó Baazhní’ázhí; his maternal grandparents are the Tódích’íi’nii, and his paternal grandparents are the Kinyaa’áanii. He is currently pursuing a Ph.D. in English and Literary Arts at the University of Denver, and he serves as the director of the Emerging Diné Writers’ Institute. You can read two of Loley’s poems in Navajo and English in the July/August 2022 issue of Poetry, in print and online.

More Episodes from The Poetry Magazine Podcast
Showing 81 to 100 of 340 Podcasts
  1. Monday, October 21, 2019
  2. Monday, October 14, 2019

    Sy Hoahwah reads “Pineola”

    Poets
  3. Monday, October 7, 2019
    Poets
  4. Tuesday, October 1, 2019
  5. Monday, September 23, 2019

    Jane Hirshfield reads “Page”

  6. Monday, September 16, 2019

    beyza ozer reads “To Summarize a Galaxy”

    Poets
  7. Monday, September 9, 2019

    Aria Aber reads “Mother of All Balms”

    Poets
  8. Monday, September 2, 2019

    C.R. Grimmer reads “Boylesque”

  9. Monday, August 26, 2019

    Raymond Antrobus reads “Echo”

  10. Monday, August 19, 2019

    Brenda Shaughnessy reads “Honeymoon”

  11. Monday, August 5, 2019
  12. Monday, July 29, 2019

    Naomi Shihab Nye reads “300 Goats”

  13. Monday, July 22, 2019
    Poets
  14. Monday, July 15, 2019

    Anu Lakhan reads “If suddenly”

    Poets
  15. Monday, July 8, 2019

    Mai Der Vang reads “Look to the New Moon”

    Poets
  16. Monday, July 1, 2019
  1. Previous Page
    1. 3
    2. 4
    3. 5
    4. 6
    5. 7
  2. Next Page