Audio

Esther Belin in Conversation with Manny Loley

July 15, 2022

This week, Esther Belin speaks with Manny Loley, a Diné poet and storyteller who writes in both the Navajo and English languages. Belin and Loley talk about stories as medicine, the unique poetics of the Navajo language and the meanings and musicality that don’t translate into English, and the importance and industriousness of queer people in Diné creation stories and in the Navajo Nation today. Loley also shares why his most important readers and listeners are his grandma, his mom, and the land.

Loley is ‘Áshįįhi born for Tó Baazhní’ázhí; his maternal grandparents are the Tódích’íi’nii, and his paternal grandparents are the Kinyaa’áanii. He is currently pursuing a Ph.D. in English and Literary Arts at the University of Denver, and he serves as the director of the Emerging Diné Writers’ Institute. You can read two of Loley’s poems in Navajo and English in the July/August 2022 issue of Poetry, in print and online.

More Episodes from The Poetry Magazine Podcast
Showing 61 to 80 of 340 Podcasts
  1. Monday, March 9, 2020

    Nicole Sealey reads “And”

  2. Monday, March 2, 2020

    Ashley August reads “Superstition”

  3. Monday, February 24, 2020

    A Conversation with Jeffrey Yang on Mary Oppen

    Poets
  4. Monday, February 17, 2020
    Poets
  5. Monday, February 10, 2020

    Maggie Smith reads “Threshold”

    Poets
  6. Monday, February 3, 2020
  7. Monday, January 20, 2020

    Gerald Stern reads “Torn Coat”

    Poets
  8. Monday, January 13, 2020
    Poets
  9. Monday, January 6, 2020
  10. Monday, December 30, 2019
    Poets
  11. Monday, December 23, 2019

    Julian Randall reads “The Zero Country”

  12. Monday, December 16, 2019
    Poets
  13. Monday, December 9, 2019
  14. Monday, December 2, 2019

    Franny Choi reads “Hangul Abecedarian”

    Poets
  15. Monday, November 25, 2019
  16. Monday, November 18, 2019

    Sarah María Medina reads “América”

  17. Monday, November 11, 2019

    Jeanne Larsen reads “Reading: An Elegy”

  18. Monday, November 4, 2019
    Poets
  1. Previous Page
    1. 2
    2. 3
    3. 4
    4. 5
    5. 6
  2. Next Page